Higher Education Funding

Higher Education Funding Commission

Wednesday, January 8, 2020 | 10:00 a.m.

Business & Public Management Center, West Chester University

50 Sharpless Street
West Chester, PA 19383


Session One – 10 a.m.

Skills Needed for Jobs Today and in the Future

Martin Van Der Werf, Associate Director of Editorial and Postsecondary Policy, Georgetown Center on Education and the Workforce
Joan Wodiska, Founder and CEO, Pioneer Management Consulting 



Session Two – 1:30 p.m.

The Future Structure and Delivery of Higher Education

Brian Fleming, Innovation Center, Southern New Hampshire University
Laura W. Perna, GSE Centennial Presidential Professor of Education and Executive Director of the Alliance for Higher Education and Democracy (AHEAD), University of Pennsylvania (Penn)


WHAT: The Public Higher Education Funding Commission will hold its next hearing to hear testimony related to higher education funding, affordability and effectiveness and administration and operations.

The 19-member Public Higher Education Funding Commission, which was established in Act 70 of 2019, is tasked with developing a higher education funding formula and identifying factors that may be used to determine the distribution of funding among the public institutions of higher education in Pennsylvania.

WHO:    The Public Higher Education Funding Commission, co-chaired by Senate Appropriations Committee Chairman Pat Browne (R-Lehigh), House Appropriations Committee Chairman Stan Saylor (R-York) and Education Secretary Pedro Rivera.

Tentatively scheduled to testify include:

  • Patricia Landis, Bureau Director, PDE Bureau of Postsecondary and Adult Education
  • Scott Boelscher, Senior Associate, HCM Strategists
  • Kate Shaw, Executive Director, Research for Action 

WHEN:    Wednesday, October 23, 2019 at 2 p.m.


State Capitol
North Office Building
Hearing Room 1
Harrisburg, PA 17101

We invite the media to attend and cover this event.


Matt Moyer (Senator Browne) mmoyer@pasen.gov – 717-787-1349

John O’Brien (Rep. Saylor) jobrien@pahousegop.com – 717-787-1711

Eric Levis (Secretary Rivera) elevis@pa.gov – 717-783-9803